

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

– David Ly

Andrea EasterPilcher
Chis Eisenbarth

DevidyFerreKirk
Doris GeideStevenson
Scott Hadzik.
FrankHarrold
Ed Hahn
Sue Harley
Tim Herzog

Wendy Holliday AbsentA Mark LeTourneau Marek Matyjasik Madonne Miner

Cory Moss Cora Neal – Rach

Bladey Nielsbe

Kacy Peckenpaug Brett Perozzi Travis Price

Clay Rasmussen-Jack Rasmussen-

David Read Rob Reynolds Bill Robertson

Ann Rocha Yas Simonian

Mohammad Sono

SECOND: Casey Neville

OUTCOME: Unanimous Approval

9 .<u>Department Name Change</u>, Geoscience to Earth and Environmental Sciences – Rick Ford, Department Chair. The name change is in the best interest of students. This name is a national trend, positioning our college for the future. There is support across campus, and at other USHE schools.

MOTION: To bring the department name change proposal to the floor by Marek Matyjasik

SECOND: Casey Neville

OUTCOME: Unanimous Approval

10. Change in Composition of Ad Hoc Starfish Committee – Doris Geide-Stevenson, Faculty Senate Chair

Shaun Adamson (LIB) – Library, had not been represented Rebekah Cumpsty for Kacy Peckenpaugh (A&H) Ryan Dunn for Geri Conlin (ED)

MOTION: To bring Ad Hoc committee changes to the floor by Catherine Zublin

SECOND: Ed Hahn

OUTCOME: Unanimous Approval

11. <u>URTE Committee Chair Nominations</u> - Doris Geide-Stevenson Nomination of Laine Berghout for URTE Chair

MOTION: To accept nomination of Laine Berghout by Marek Matyjasik

SECOND: Hugo Valle

OUTCOME: Unanimous Approval

12. New charge for GEIAC - Doris Geide-Stevenson

GEIAC is to review the general education rule "Only one course from either GEOG or GEO may be used to fulfill Physical Sciences." A departmental split about 20 years ago prompted this rule.

MOTION: To put the charge on the floor Rob Reynolds

SECOND: David Ferro

OUTCOME: Unanimous Approval

Adjourned at 3:45 pm

Next Faculty Senate Meeting: Thursday, November 8, 2018, 3pm, Smith Lecture Hall, WB 206-207