Draft Minutes Not Yet Approved

- 1. ROLL CALL
- 2. Approval of minutes from March 15, 2018 meeting. Approved as circulated
- 3. Faculty Governance Award Presented by Leigh Shaw, 16-17 Faculty Governance Award Recipient
- 4. Certificates to 17-18 Outgoing Faculty Presented by Doris Geide-Stevenson, Chair & Marek Matyjasik, Vice-Chair

# Information Items

- 5. Administrative Update Chuck Wight, President Chuck has accepted a position at Salisbury University and will begin July 1, 2018.
- 6. <u>High Impact Educational Experiences (HIEE)</u> Brenda Kowalewski & Jessica Oyler Weber has created language to clarify what HIEE means, and currently is working to get people interested in participating in piloting the rubric. HIEE promote student learning through curricular and co-curricular activities that are intentionally designed to foster active and integrative student engagement by utilizing multiple impact strategies. There is a three phase rollout plan. Phase one, developing common language is done, phase two, using the definition and taxonomy will begin in fall.
- 7. <u>Research Scholarship and Professional Growth Update</u> John Armstrong, Chair Brief overview of funds awarded by RSPG for 17-18.
- 8. <u>Academic Resources and Computing Committee Update</u> Shannon McGillivray, Chair This spring 12 Dee grants were requested and 8 were able to be funded totaling \$32,354. 19 ARCC proposals were received and all were funded, totaling \$123,099. Two other projects that ARCC has participated in include:
  - a. Cataloging software available to WSU staff. To find available WSU software for download visit <u>weber.edu/software/campus\_software.html</u>. As part of this project a new software portal that includes tutorials and training will hopefully be available by October 2018.
  - b. Coordination of departmental software purchases. A survey has been done by ARCC showing where multiple departments are paying for the same software, this has been recently shared with all chairs and deans, with hopes that coordinating software purchases could save costs.
- 9. <u>TLA/FAST annual report</u> Marek Matyjasik, Faculty Senate Vice-Chair, Colleen Packer, TLA Chair

Faculty Advocates for Student-Centered Teaching (FAST) is a Faculty Senate Ad Hoc Committee formed to help foster a more supportive environment for faculty members who wish to substantially increase their use of evidence-based instructional practices. FAST works closely with TLA.

Cultivating a Learning Mindset was chosen as the TLA theme this year to coordinate with the Student Success Initiative. The adjunct retreat format has been changed and will be retained, it has been very successful. Two new programs have been implemented, Communities of Practice and 10 before Tenure.

The result of a survey of department chairs and deans regarding the use of student evaluations as an identifier of teaching effectiveness, found four major problems, 1) Unequal weighting across colleges & departments 2) Question validity 3) Low response rates 4) Limited reporting of results which includes the average of responses for a given course and frequency distribution of responses for a given course. In response to this TLA recommends 1) Creating an ad-hoc committee of faculty to develop question sets for the new Chi-tester tool. 2) Continue to educate faculty about promoting student responses. 3) Set common course evaluation dates university-wide (with little deviation). 4) Create a subcommittee to identify reporting needs for the new Chi-Tester tool.

# **Action Items**

- Vote for Faculty Board of review Vote for <u>FIVE</u>: The four top votes will serve a two-year terms the 5th will serve a one year term and the other two will serve as alternates. Results: 2 Year Term: Adam Johnston, S; Rob Reynolds, S&BS; Shane Schvaneveldt, B&E; Sheree Josephson, A&H; One Year Term: Pat Shaw, HP; Alternates: Steven Eichmeier, EAST. Melina Alexander, ED;
- 11. <u>Faculty Senate Standing Committees and Chairs for 2018-2019</u> Doris Geide-Stevenson, Chair MOTION: Bring proposed committee members to the floor by Casey Neville SECOND: Catherine Zublin OUTCOME: Unanimous approval of all committees
- 12. University Curriculum Committee John Cavitt, Chair <u>Faculty Senate April 12, 2018</u> (remember to log in once you get to Curriculog)

#### Social & Behavioral Science

Program Change Neuroscience Minor Aaron Ashley

**Engaged Learning, Honors, Interdisciplinary Programs** Course Revision HNRS - 2020 - Exploring Key Concepts in the Disciplines: Creative Arts Megan Moulding

#### Science

New CourseGEO - 3214 - SoilsMichael HernandezNew CourseMATH - 4160 - Introduction to Mathematical CryptographyKent KidmanProgram ChangeMathematics Teaching MinorMatt Ondrus

### EAST

Program Change Web Technology Minor Richard Fry

Education Program Change Associate of Science in Education Sheryl Rushton >>End of Proposals<< MOTION: Bring all curriculum to the floor by Jack Rasmussen SECOND: Bob Fudge OUTCOME: Unanimous approval

13. Early Tenure and Promotion